How to: Use a Planner as a College Student

Being unable to move after a surgery even in your own home makes you surf the web like a pro. I’ve searched a lot of stuff in the last hour and that includes the college tags on Pinterest. I cannot being to say how much Pinterest makes life ten times easier. So, today I am still hung up on the planner I talked about on my last post from Kate Spade. This woman is a queen and deserves a freaking monument made in her honor. The “I AM VERY BUSY” planners make my heart ache as well as the one I mentioned I’m going to buy.

You’d think I’ve used a planner before, but I haven’t. I used journals back at school and I’d jot down every piece of homework I had to do. I’m not very consistent on that so I’d miss out on a lot of those when I started to lose motivation. To start off using a planner, I’m going to set some steps that I’ll make sure to follow as much as I can. On a little side note, remember you’re not obliged to do this ever but being organized will help you out in life so making a tiny weeny of effort now will pay off. Routines are built within three weeks so let’s get down to it.

Step 1: Find the one

Go through your favorite store’s planners, see if one fits what you’re looking for. If they don’t, surf the web and find it! If it’s a bit into the pricey side, try to gather enough money and get it before your college starts. You want to find one that includes more or less from this August to December next year (these are the 17-month planners!). Make sure you’ll be able to start from the moment you arrive there, guys!

As I said on my previous post, you’re going to have to be very aware of your email and syllabus. This is going to be very important for the next steps so make sure to be very conscious about both things at all times.

Step 2: Fill it in

Once your planner has arrived and you’re jumping around in your room all happy, you should grab your syllabus and write down everything listed on the due dates. I recommend color-coding. Why, you’d ask, or how am I going to keep it up.

Well color-coding makes everything easier to scan through. You can write a legend and add it into your planner with a simple DIY so you can move it around as you go.


  1. Grab a piece of paper or cardboard and cut it so it fits your planner as you want it to.
  2. Punch some holes into it after measuring the spaces to meet your journal’s and cut slits in the middle so you can slip it into the book.
  3. Write down the color-code you like best (you can get some inspo on Pinterest or on Tumblr’s studyblr community!).
  4. Slip it in!


Step 3: Make the most out of it

Whether your planner has a meal list, shopping list, to-do list, or any other extras, make the most out of it! You bought it, so use it! I know that if I want to, I’ll keep it up. So, keep yourself motivated, enjoy those colors and stickers you’re using on your lovely planner. Add in your doctor’s appointments, your workout schedule, your blog/online/writing/creative duties, some friends outing, important occasions like your family’s and friends’ birthday… It will be part of your life, because it actually holds all your life! You’ll definitely love it. You can even add the books you’re interested in purchasing and reading! Just make it work for you and make it comfortable.

If a planner is not your ideal thing, go for a wall-calendar or use an online planner or calendar, such as Google Calendar or One Note. I’m currently using the latter for to-do lists and it really does help. Though, I’m one of those people that like to cross out something on a paper and feel a huge satisfaction out of it.

Also, if you lose motivation for it, go through Pinterest and some blogs and you’ll definitely want to pick your planner back up! Or even check on this blog, I’ll definitely have some stuff gathered for you to fall in love with your agenda once again.

Comment down below if you’ve got any planners and tell me how you use them! I’d love to see your creativity with these. Have a great day!

4 thoughts on “How to: Use a Planner as a College Student

  1. I have a Ban.do Large Agenda and the way that works for me is decorating the months ahead of time so that way it’s already done and you don’t have to worry about it when you get to that month or week. For example, right now I’m almost finished decorating all of November and starting on December (I start college next month) but I don’t go too overboard bc I want it to be functional at the same time.

    Like

    • That is actually a great idea, props for that! Honestly, I’ve still got to get the money to buy the Agenda and Ban.do certainly has some lovely options. It comes with stickers and different other sections, according to the website. Is that correct? Have you had any other type of planners before? I see Kikky K being a huge trend as well.

      Like

      • Thanks 🙂 Yea you are correct on it having a sticker page but I don’t understand what you mean a by sections. This Ban.do agenda is my second planner that I have used. Last year, I used an At A Glance agenda but I didn’t really like it. Yea, Kikky K has been really popular but I’m not sure if I’m a six ring planner kind of gal.

        Like

Leave a Reply

